The Man and His Words

For more than a week, I was merely feeding my eyes with the sight of this certain book’s enticing cover despite this screaming urge of picking it up from the spot where it peacefully laid. My daily routines are still the customary ones (as they are routines, right) but these past few days, they have elevated to some stressful and brain-sucking acts – the reason of my sight feeding. Finally, after what seemed like a decade, I got the chance to savor a respite to the hustle-bustle of my seemingly-constant college peak days. Oh, just a short time to slip into my mind-soothing world actually. Well at least I had a short time, rather than no time at all. Once, I realized I have to be thankful for such short times because somehow, they manage to keep me sane. 🙂

Now, before I digress, let me finally unveil the reason behind this post.

Paulo Coelho and his book Manuscript Found in Accra

Thanks to my good friend for recommending this beautiful book. And thanks to his patience on my late return of it. The late return didn’t really matter to him because what he wanted was for the book to be read. “So you’d be inspired,” I remember him telling me. Not that I needed something to inspire me anyway because the truth is, I am ALWAYS inspired. There are two reasons that constantly make me: (1) my mother and elder brother, and oh, (2) the source of all goodness and love, God.

Again, before I digress, let me give you the details of the reason behind this post.

I found Sir Paulo’s book so life-enhancing. His words, ughh, they are just so deep yet strikingly comprehensible, so convincing and powerful and meaningful.

Thus, having been drawn to the magnetic force of his words, I found myself scribbling some of his beautiful lines that I just couldn’t afford for time to steal away from me. They are just so beautiful that I don’t ever want to forget. With that, I wound up with my 25 personal favorite lines. 🙂


  1. Only he who gives up is defeated. Everyone else is victorious.
  2. Do not let the next opportunity slip by you.
  3. I am here to tell you that there are people who have never been defeated. They are the ones who never fought. They managed to avoid scars, humiliations, and feelings of helplessness, as well as those moments when even warriors doubt the existence of God. Such people can say with pride: “I never lost a battle.” On the other hand, they will never be able to say: “I won a battle.”
  4. Woe to those who were never beaten! They will never be winners in this life.
  5. Some people say: “No one loves me.” But even in cases of unrequited love there is always the hope that one day it will be requited.
  6. Nothing in this world is useless in the eyes of God.
  7. Sometimes taking part in a great battle will be the thing that will help to change the course of history. But sometimes you can do that simply by smiling, for no reason, at someone you happen to pass on the street. Without intending to, you might have saved the life of a complete stranger, who also thought he was useless and might have been ready to kill himself until a smile gave him new hope and confidence.
  8. A life is never useless. Each soul that came down to Earth is here for a reason.
  9. Faith shows us that we are never alone.
  10. Outer beauty is inner beauty made visible, and it manifests itself in the light that flows from your eyes.
  11. The eyes are the mirror of the soul and reflect everything that seems to be hidden; and, like a mirror, they also reflect the person looking into them. So, if the person looking into someone’s eyes has a dark soul, he will see only his ugliness.
  12. Beauty is present in all creation, but the dangerous fact is that, because we human beings are often cut off from the Divine Energy, we allow ourselves to be influenced by what other people think. We deny our own beauty because others can’t or won’t recognize it. Instead of accepting ourselves as we are, we try to imitate what we see around us. We try to be what other people think of as “pretty” and, little by little, our soul fades, our will weakens, and all the potential we had to make the world a more beautiful place withers away.
  13. Beauty exists not in sameness but in difference. Who could imagine a giraffe without its long neck or a cactus without its spines? The irregularity of the mountain that peaks us is what makes them so imposing. If we tried to make them all the same, they would no longer command our respect.
  14. Pity those who think: “I am not beautiful. That’s why Love has not knocked at my door.” In fact, Love did knock, but when they opened the door, they weren’t prepared to welcome Love in.
  15. Don’t give up. Remember, it’s always the last key on the key ring that opens the door.
  16. Love is only a word, until someone arrives to give it meaning.
  17. My smile is my way of saying: “You can destroy my body, but not my soul.”
  18. It is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.
  19. True lovers will be able to enter the garden of beauty without fear of being judged. They will no longer be two bodies and two souls meeting, but a single fountain out of which pours the true water of life.
  20. The simplest things in life are the most extraordinary. Let them reveal themselves.
  21. What is success? It is being able to go to bed each night with your soul at peace.
  22. Just as there are many paths to the top of a mountain, so there are many paths to achieving our goal.
  23. Therefore, Lord, give us this day our daily miracle. And forgive us if we are not always capable of recognizing it.
  24. Therefore, although anxiety is part of life, never let it control you. If it comes too close, say: “I’m not worried about tomorrow, because God is there already, waiting for me.”
  25. The enemy is not the person standing before you, sword in hand. It is the person standing next to you with a dagger concealed behind his back.

I don’t have the lightest ounce of intention to spoil you with what’s inside Sir Paulo’s beautiful book. I just couldn’t help but share his meaningful lines especially to those who might not have the chance to read the entire book.

Also, those above are just my personal favorite lines; it doesn’t mean that the rest are not ever going to be one’s favorites, too. It’s always best to try the thing yourself, only then you’d know how good or beautiful it is. 🙂

So come on my dear friends, if you have time, take a comfy sit and a cup of your favorite coffee with all the stresses and worries a mile behind you and just read Sir Paulo’s works. 🙂

They might give answers to some of your questions.

They might give light to your dimming perspectives in life.

They might help you.

They might change you. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Man and His Words

    • Hiii, Madam Marsha. 🙂
      Oh yes. Sir Paulo just has such wonderful thoughts. And when he speaks them through his writing, his words are like magic that could touch people’s lives and change their perspectives in life. 🙂
      Don’t mention it, madam. 🙂 If I have the luxury of time, I surely will stay longer at your place. And yes, it’s just so great to meet people with boatload of beautiful thoughts here in this site. 🙂

      Have a beautiful day, too.
      Happy blogging. 🙂

      ♥ M

      Like

Let me hear you. :)

